Bild für den Bereich Betreiberinformation

General terms and conditions / fees

For operators of broadcasting networks and companies that operate facilities for broadcasting radio and television signals information on notification pursuant to Art. 25 TKG 2003 is available at: Information vor broadcasting operators.


Who is required to notify their general terms and conditions?

According to Art. 25 Par. 1 of the Telecommunications Act 2003 (TKG 2003), operators of communications networks and providers of communications services must issue general terms and conditions which comprise a service description and define the relevant conditions regarding rates and charges. This requirement also applies to any changes in general terms and conditions or in rates and charges (cf. Art. 25 Par. 2 TKG 2003).
The notification requirement pursuant to Art. 25 Par. 1 and Par. 2 TKG 2003 applies to all operators of communications networks and providers of communications services. In particular, these include the following:

  • Operators of public telephone services (fixed-link and mobile telephony)
  • Internet service providers
  • Leased line operators.

There is an exemption to the notification requirement pursuant to Art. 25 TKG 2003 for operators of communication services offering these services to end users exclusively in their business premises (such as call shops or internet cafés).

If, however, a service as defined in Art. 26 Par. 2 TKG 2003 (such as public pay phones) is concerned, the notification requirement remains in force.
Providers of content services (e.g., directory assistance services, erotic hotlines, ring tones and video clips) and of value-added services are exempt from the obligation to notify and publish these conditions.


In what form should operators and providers submit these reports?

Notifications can be sent by e-mail to anzeige@rtr.at. Please be sure to include the following information as described below:
In the subject line of the e-mail:
Include the full name of the company and an indication that the message contains a notification pursuant to § 25 TKG 2003 (e.g., for notifications of general terms and conditions or service descriptions: "XY GmbH, Notification of general terms and conditions pursuant to Art. 25 TKG 2003"; or for notifications of rates and charges: "XY GmbH, Notification of rates and charges for [product name] pursuant to Art. 25 TKG").
Attach the general terms and conditions, service descriptions or conditions regarding rates and charges to the e-mail as a Word or PDF document.
When submitting changes in general terms and conditions or service descriptions, please send the changes using the change tracking function in Word; in addition please submit a PDF document.


When are the deadlines for notifications?

For initial notifications or notifications of changes which are exclusively in the customer's favor (known as "exclusively favorable changes" in which no part of the general terms and conditions or rates and charges is changed in a way which is detrimental to the customer), it is sufficient to submit the general terms and conditions or rates and charges to the regulatory authority by the time they go into effect (cf. Art. 25 Par. 1 TKG 2003).
On the other hand, in cases where changes in general terms and conditions or rates and charges bring about some form of disadvantage for the customer ("not exclusively favorable changes"; even if only one of many provisions or rates/charges is changed to the customer's detriment), it is necessary to submit the amended terms and conditions or rates and charges to the regulatory authority at least two months prior to the date on which they go into effect. In such cases, therefore, operators and providers are required to comply with a two-month notification period (cf. Art. 25 Par. 2 TKG 2003).


How long does it take the TKK to process notifications?

According to Art. 25 Par. 6 TKG 2003, the Telekom-Control Commission may raise objections to general terms and conditions notified pursuant to Art. 25 Par. 1 and Par. 2 TKG 2003 within a period of eight weeks. 


What happens after general terms and conditions are notified?

The regulatory authority (specifically the Telekom-Control Commission, or TKK) reviews whether the notified terms and conditions (but not rates and charges) comply with certain legal provisions. In this context, reviews are based on the Telecommunications Act 2003 and any ordinances issued on the basis of that act (e.g., Itemized Billing Ordinance, Number Porting Ordinance, etc.), Art. 864a and 879 of the General Civil Code (ABGB) as well as Art. 6 and 9 of the Consumer Protection Act (KSchG). 

If the general terms and conditions notified do not comply with the legal provisions mentioned above, then the TKK is allowed to raise an objection to such terms by means of an official decision within eight weeks of the notification date (cf. Art. 25 Par. 6 TKG 2003). If an objection is raised, the operator is prohibited from applying the relevant contract terms. The explanations above also apply to notified service descriptions.
In cases where the TKK decides not to raise an objection, the operator or provider is informed in writing.
The notified terms and conditions, service descriptions as well as rates and charges are published on the RTR web site (German only). All the terms are published, however, only after they have been reviewed conclusively by the TKK.

Note: Due to the fact that changes may be necessary after the notification of general terms and conditions, it is advisable to put terms and conditions into effect only after they have been reviewed by the TKK (i.e., once written confirmation has been received).
The regulatory authority reviews notified terms and conditions and service descriptions to ensure that they include certain mandatory information ("minimum content"). Operators and providers can check whether their terms and conditions or service descriptions actually include this minimum content using the "Terms and conditions – Minimum content checklist" (see Appendix/below – German).
It is also advisable to have general terms and conditions checked by a legal expert, in particular to ensure that they comply with consumer protection regulations (see Art. 25 Par. 6 TKG 2003 for more information regarding the basis of these reviews).


What if an operator or provider fails to submit notifications?

Providers and operators which fail to comply with notification requirements (initial notifications or notifications of changes) may be guilty of an administrative offense which is subject to a fine of up to €58,000. 


Publication of contract terms

Please note that contract terms can only be published after completion of the TKK procedure pursuant to Art. 25 Par 6 of the TKG 2003.

Note: Tariff conditions have been published since 1 July 2004. General terms and conditions as well as service descriptions have been published since 20 September 2004. 
Until 21 February 2012, the Telekom-Control-Commission was not entitled to object the notified tariff conditions. For this reason, the Telekom-Control-Commission did not review the content of the tariff conditions notified up to this date.

Please note: Ruling 2012/03/0067, handed down by the Austrian Administrative Court (VwGH) on 22 October 2012, limited the scope of the review specified in Art. 25 Par. 6 TKG 2003. Since that ruling, when notified of changes to contract terms, the Telekom-Control-Commission reviews only the changes (as well as any parts of the contract terms inextricably linked in content to these changes); the Telekom-Control Commission is no longer entitled to review the contract terms in their entirety when notified about changes.

Bild für den Bereich Betreiberinformation

Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen und Entgeltbestimmungen

Für Betreiber von Rundfunknetzen und für Betreiber, die die Übertragung von Rundfunksignalen besorgen, sind die Informationen zur Anzeige nach § 25 TKG 2003 unter dem folgenden Link abrufbar: Informationen für Rundfunkbetreiber.

Wer muss Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen und Entgelte anzeigen?

Gemäß § 25 Abs 1 TKG 2003 haben Sie als Betreiber von Kommunikationsnetzen und Kommunikationsdiensten Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen (AGB) zu erlassen, in welchen auch die angebotenen Dienste beschrieben werden, sowie die dafür vorgesehenen Entgeltbestimmungen (EB) festzulegen.
Die Beschreibung der angebotenen Dienste kann auch in eigenen Leistungsbeschreibungen (LB) erfolgen, die als Teil der Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen behandelt werden.
Auch für die Änderungen von Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen bzw. Entgeltbestimmungen gelten die zuvor genannten Pflichten (vgl § 25 Abs 2 TKG 2003).

Die Anzeigepflicht nach § 25 Abs 1 und Abs 2 TKG 2003 trifft sämtliche Betreiber von Kommunikationsnetzen und Kommunikationsdiensten. Hierzu zählen:

  • Betreiber eines öffentlichen Telefondienstes (Fest- und Mobiltelefonie)
  • Internet-Service-Provider
  • Mietleitungsbetreiber

Eine Ausnahme von der Anzeigepflicht nach § 25 TKG 2003 besteht (vgl § 15 Abs 6 TKG 2003) für Betreiber von Kommunikationsdiensten, die den gesamten Umfang ihrer Kommunikationsdienstleistung den Endnutzern ausschließlich in ihren Geschäftsräumen anbieten, z.B. Callshops und Internetcafes.

Ist jedoch eine Dienstleistung iSd § 26 Abs 2 TKG 2003 (z.B. öffentliche Sprechstellen) betroffen, bleibt die Anzeigepflicht bestehen.

Betreiber von Inhaltsdiensten (z.B. Auskunftsdienste, Erotiklines, Klingeltöne) und Anbieter von Mehrwertdiensten sind von der Anzeige- und Kundmachungspflicht ausgenommen.

In welcher Form hat die Anzeige zu erfolgen?

Ihre Anzeige richten Sie bitte per E-Mail an die Telekom-Control-Kommission an die Adresse anzeige@rtr.at.

Hierbei bitten wir Sie um folgende Angaben bzw. Vorgehensweise:
Im Betreff des E-Mails: Angabe des Firmenwortlautes und den Hinweis, dass es sich um eine Anzeige nach § 25 TKG 2003 handelt.
Beispiel AGB bzw. LB-Anzeige: „XY-GmbH, Anzeige von AGB nach § 25 TKG 2003”
Beispiel Tarif-Anzeige: „XY GmbH, Tarifanzeige für (Produktname) nach § 25 TKG”
Fügen Sie bitte die AGB, LB oder EB als Word- und PDF-Dokument im Anhang des E-Mails hinzu.

Bei Änderungsanzeigen von AGB, LB bzw EB ersuchen wir Sie, die geänderten Bestimmungen sowohl im Änderungsmodus im Word-Dokument als auch als PDF-Dokument zu übermitteln.

Welche Fristen sind bei der Anzeige einzuhalten?

Bei Erstanzeigen oder bei Änderungsanzeigen, durch welche AGB oder Entgelte in einer Form geändert werden, welche für den Kunden nur zum Vorteil ist (sogenannte „ausschließlich begünstigende Änderungen”, bei denen keine einzige AGB-Regelung oder kein Entgelt bzw. Tarif nachteilig geändert wird) genügt es, wenn Sie die AGB bzw. Entgelte spätestens zum Inkrafttretenszeitpunkt an die Regulierungsbehörde übermitteln (vgl. § 25 Abs 1 TKG 2003).

Bei Änderungen von AGB oder Entgelten, welche hingegen für den Kunden in irgendeiner Form oder an irgendeiner Stelle nachteilig sind (sogenannte „nicht ausschließlich begünstigende Änderungen”; selbst wenn nur eine von mehreren AGB-Regelungen oder Entgelten nachteilig geändert wird) ist es erforderlich, dass Sie die AGB oder Entgelte bereits zwei Monate vor dem Inkrafttretenszeitpunkt an die Regulierungsbehörde übermitteln. In diesem Fall ist somit eine zweimonatige Anzeigefrist einzuhalten (vgl. § 25 Abs 2 TKG 2003).

Wie rasch erfolgt die Behandlung durch die TKK?

Gemäß § 25 Abs 6 TKG 2003 kann die Telekom-Control-Kommission (nach § 25 Abs 1 und Abs 2 TKG 2003) angezeigten Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen und Entgeltbestimmungen innerhalb von 8 Wochen widersprechen.

Was passiert nach der Anzeige?

Die Regulierungsbehörde (Telekom-Control-Kommission – TKK) überprüft die angezeigten AGB und die Entgeltbestimmungen auf deren Konformität mit bestimmten gesetzlichen Bestimmungen. Den Prüfungsmaßstab bildet hierbei das Telekommunikationsgesetz 2003 sowie die aufgrund dieses Gesetzes erlassenen Verordnungen (z.B. Einzelentgeltnachweisverordnung, Nummernübertragungsverordnung, Kostenbeschränkungsverordnung etc.), die §§ 864a und 879 des Allgemeinen Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuches (ABGB) sowie die §§ 6 und 9 des Konsumentenschutzgesetzes (KSchG).

Entsprechen die angezeigten AGB bzw. Entgeltbestimmungen einer der oben genannten Bestimmungen nicht, dann kann die TKK den angezeigten AGB bzw. EB binnen acht Wochen (ab Anzeigedatum) mittels Bescheid widersprechen (vgl § 25 Abs 6 TKG 2003). Der Widerspruch bewirkt gemäß § 25 Abs 6 TKG 2003 jedenfalls die Untersagung der weiteren Verwendung der Vertragsbedingungen. Obige Ausführungen gelten auch für angezeigte LB.

Beschließt die TKK keinen Widerspruch zu erheben, erhält der Betreiber hierüber eine schriftliche Information. 

Die angezeigten AGB, LB und Entgelte werden von der Regulierungsbehörde auf deren Website veröffentlicht (unter Veröffentlichung der Vertragsbedingungen). Die Veröffentlichung sämtlicher Vertragsbedingungen erfolgt jedoch erst nach abschließender Behandlung durch die Telekom-Control-Kommission.

Hinweis: Aufgrund der Tatsache, dass nach der Anzeige der Vertragsbedingungen noch Änderungen erforderlich werden könnten, ist es empfehlenswert, angezeigte Vertragsbedingungen erst nach der abschließenden Behandlung durch die TKK (nach Zugang des abschließenden Schreibens) in Kraft zu setzen.

Die angezeigten Vertragsbedingungen werden von der Regulierungsbehörde auch auf einen zwingenden Mindestinhalt hin überprüft. Ob Ihre Vertragsbedingungen diesen zwingenden Inhalt tatsächlich aufweisen, können Sie anhand der Formblätter „Checkliste AGB-Mindestinhalt” und „Checkliste EB-Mindestinhalt” (siehe untenstehende Downloads) prüfen.

Es erscheint zweckmäßig, dass Sie Ihre Vertragsbedingungen von einer rechtskundigen Person, insbesondere auf Übereinstimmung mit den konsumentenschutzrechtlichen Regelungen (zum Prüfungsmaßstab siehe § 25 Abs 6 TKG 2003) überprüfen lassen.

Welche Folgen treten bei Nicht-Anzeige auf?

Wenn Sie als Betreiber Ihrer Anzeigepflicht (zur Erstanzeige oder Änderungsanzeige) nicht nachkommen, so kann das insbesondere eine Verwaltungsübertretung darstellen, welche mit einer Geldstrafe von bis zu € 58.000 bedroht ist (vgl § 109 Abs 4 Z 3 TKG 2003).

Veröffentlichung der Vertragsbedingungen

Beachten Sie, dass die Veröffentlichung der Vertragsbedingungen erst nach Abschluss des Verfahrens nach § 25 Abs 6 TKG 2003 vor der Telekom-Control-Kommission erfolgen kann.

Hinweis: Die Veröffentlichung der Entgeltbestimmungen erfolgt seit dem 1. Juli 2004. Die Veröffentlichung der Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen und Leistungsbeschreibungen erfolgt seit dem 20. September 2004.

Die Telekom-Control-Kommission hatte bis zum 21. Februar 2012 kein Widerspruchsrecht hinsichtlich der angezeigten Entgeltbestimmungen. Bis zum 21. Februar 2012 angezeigte Entgeltbestimmungen wurden daher inhaltlich von der Telekom-Control-Kommission nicht geprüft.

Bitte beachten Sie: Seit dem Erkenntnis des Verwaltungsgerichtshofes 2012/03/0067 vom 22. Oktober 2012 kann die Telekom-Control-Kommission bei Anzeigen von Änderungen nach § 25 Abs. 2 TKG 2003 lediglich die in den Vertragsbedingungen (Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen/Leistungsbeschreibungen/Entgeltbestimmungen) vorgenommenen Änderungen (und in untrennbarem Zusammenhang stehende Teile) auf ihre Übereinstimmung mit dem Prüfungsmaßstab nach § 25 Abs. 6 TKG 2003 überprüfen. Eine Überprüfung sämtlicher Vertragsklauseln ist bei Änderungsanzeigen nach § 25 Abs. 2 TKG 2003 daher seit dem Erkenntnis nicht mehr möglich.