RTR evaluates Cost Limitation Ordinance: extreme decline in the number of complaints concerning mobile data services

Press release dated 7 February 2013

The Cost Limitation Ordinance (Kostenbeschränkungsverordnung) issued by RTR became law on 1 May 2012. The aim of this RTR ordinance is to introduce effective cost protection measures in the market and to protect consumers, among other things, from bill shocks arising from mobile data service use.

Conciliation cases relating to mobile data services dropped by 50%

“We evaluated the ordinance as of 31 December 2012, that is, after eight months – the results are highly gratifying and well worth mentioning. Whereas 2,327 of the 5,470 conciliation cases filed with RTR in 2011 related to mobile data services, this number was halved in 2012 with only 1,175 reported cases,” Georg Serentschy, CEO of RTR’s Telecommunications and Postal Services Division, announced, citing figures from the evaluation report on the Cost Limitation Ordinance. “The dramatic drop in conciliation cases related to mobile data services from June 2012 onwards is particularly noticeable and illustrates the positive impact of the protection measures enacted through the Cost Limitation Ordinance.”

The evaluation report on the Cost Limitation Ordinance may be viewed (in German) on the RTR website by following this link: https://www.rtr.at/de/tk/KostbeV

On the Cost Limitation Ordinance:
The ordinance contains measures applying to mobile data services in Austria (whether via mobile phone, smartphone or mobile internet access). The user’s mobile network operator is required to send a warning, either before the data volume included in the contract is used up or when EUR 30 in overrun fees are incurred (basic monthly fees and package fees are not included in this amount). The warning may be issued as a text message, for example. The mobile network operator is required to block the connection or to limit bandwidth once the overrun fee reaches EUR 60. However, no more than EUR 60 may be charged to customers without their express consent. An information sheet providing further details (in German) on the Cost Limitation Ordinance has been published at https://www.rtr.at/de/tk/KostbeV/28297_Infoblatt_KostbeV_010412.pdf

RTR evaluiert Kostenbeschränkungsverordnung: Beschwerden zu mobilen Datendiensten stark rückläufig

Pressemitteilung vom 07.02.2013

Am 1. Mai 2012 trat die von der RTR-GmbH erlassene Kostenbeschränkungsverordnung in Kraft. Ziel dieser RTR-Verordnung war, effektive Kostenschutzmaßnahmen in den Markt zu bringen und Konsumenten unter anderem vor „shocking bills“, hervorgerufen durch die Nutzung mobiler Datendienste, zu bewahren.

Streitschlichtungsfälle zu mobilen Datendiensten sanken um 50 %

„Wir haben die Verordnung per 31. Dezember 2012, also nach 8 Monaten, einer Evaluierung unterzogen – das Ergebnis ist höchst erfreulich und kann sich sehen lassen. Während im Jahr 2011 2.327 von 5.470 bei der RTR-GmbH eingebrachten Streitschlichtungsfälle mobile Datendienste betrafen, kam es im Jahr 2012 zu einer Halbierung auf 1.175“, gibt Dr. Georg Serentschy, Geschäftsführer der RTR-GmbH für den Fachbereich Telekom und Post, Zahlen aus dem Evaluierungsbericht zur Kostenbeschränkungsverordnung bekannt. „Besonders auffällig ist der drastische Rückgang der Streitschlichtungsfälle zu mobilen Datendiensten ab Juni 2012 – da haben die Schutzmaßnahmen der Kostenbeschränkungsverordnung positive Auswirkungen gezeigt.“

Der Evaluierungsbericht zur Kostenbeschränkungsverordnung ist auf der Website der RTR-GmbH unter folgendem Link veröffentlicht: https://www.rtr.at/de/tk/KostbeV

Zur Kostenbeschränkungsverordnung:
Die Verordnung beinhaltet Maßnahmen für mobile Datendienste (egal ob Handy, Smartphone oder mobiles Internet) im Inland. Warnungen werden vom jeweiligen Mobilfunkbetreiber entweder vor Aufbrauch des inkludierten Datenvolumens oder bei Erreichen von 30,- Euro an Überschreitungsentgelten (Grund- & Paketentgelte werden nicht mitgerechnet!) verschickt. Die Warnung erfolgt beispielsweise durch eine SMS. Wenn 60,- Euro an Überschreitungsentgelten angefallen sind, muss der Mobilfunkbetreiber den Anschluss sperren oder die Bandbreiten beschränken. Mehr als 60,- Euro dürfen ohne ausdrückliche Zustimmung jedoch nicht verrechnet werden. Weitere Informationen sind im Informationsblatt zur Kostenbeschränkungsverordnung unter https://www.rtr.at/de/tk/KostbeV/28297_Infoblatt_KostbeV_010412.pdf veröffentlicht.