Telecom-Control-Commission

The Telekom-Control-Commission (TKK) has been responsible for regulating the Austrian telecommunications market since 1997. The tasks and responsibilities of this regulatory authority, which is not bound by instructions from any other body, are specified in the Austrian Telecommunications Act of 2003. Among other things, the TKK is in charge of competition regulation, frequency assignment procedures, the approval of general terms and conditions of business, as well as monitoring the fees charged by telecommunications companies. Another important duty assigned to the TKK is its role as the supervisory authority for electronic signatures. RTR's Telecommunications and Postal Services Division provides operational support for the TKK.

TKK Members

This commission comprises three main members and three alternate members, each of whom is appointed by the Austrian federal government for a term of five years. The TKK is chaired by Elfriede Solé, a judge at the Austrian Supreme Court of Justice.

Term of office from 5.11.2012 until 4.11.2017:

  • Elfriede Solé
  • Erhard Fürst
  • Günter Haring

In addition, an alternate member has been appointed for each member of the commission:

  • Nikolaus Schaller
  • Mathias Grandosek
  • Franz Ziegelwanger

Lines of command

The Telekom-Control-Commission (TKK) is an independent panel authority, chaired by an appointed judge.

The Austrian Federal Minister of Transport, Innovation and Technology does not have the power to issue instructions to the TKK. However, the Federal Minister is authorized to gather and request relevant information on all matters handled by this authority.

Appeals against TKK decisions can be submitted to the Federal Administrative Court (BVwG). Further appeals against BVwG decisions may be submitted to the Austrian Administrative Court (VwGH) and the Austrian Constitutional Court (VfGH).

Telekom-Control-Kommission

Die Telekom-Control-Kommission, kurz TKK, ist in Österreich seit 1997 für die Regulierung des Telekom-Marktes zuständig. Die Aufgaben und Zuständigkeiten der weisungsfreien Regulierungsinstitution sind im Telekommunikationsgesetz 2003 genau festgelegt. Unter anderem ist sie für Wettbewerbsregulierung, Frequenzvergabeverfahren oder die Genehmigung von Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen sowie Entgelten von Telekommunikationsunternehmen zuständig. Als  Aufsichtsstelle für elektronische Signaturen erfüllt die TKK eine weitere wichtige Aufgabe. Die RTR-GmbH fungiert im Fachbereich Telekommunikation und Post als Geschäftsstelle der TKK.

Mitglieder der TKK

Die TKK besteht jeweils aus drei Haupt- und Ersatzmitgliedern, die von der Bundesregierung für die Dauer von fünf Jahren ernannt werden. Dr. Elfriede Solé, Hofrätin am Obersten Gerichtshof, ist Vorsitzende der TKK.

Amtsperiode 5.11.2012 bis 4.11.2017:

  • Hofrätin Dr. Elfriede Solé (Vorsitzende)
  • Dr. Erhard Fürst
  • Univ.Prof. DI Dr. Günter Haring

Für jedes Mitglied wurde ein Ersatzmitglied bestellt:

  • Mag. Nikolaus Schaller
  • Mag. Mathias Grandosek
  • DI Franz Ziegelwanger

Weisungszusammenhänge

Die Telekom-Control-Kommission (TKK) ist eine weisungsfreie Kollegialbehörde mit einer Richterin als Vorsitzender.

Der Bundesminister für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie hat kein Weisungsrecht gegenüber TKK. Er ist jedoch befugt, sich über alle Gegenstände der Geschäftsführung zu unterrichten und alle einschlägigen Auskünfte zu verlangen.

Bescheide der TKK können durch Beschwerde an das Bundesverwaltungsgericht (BVwG) angefochten werden. Danach steht den Parteien grundsätzlich der Rechtszug zum Verwaltungsgerichtshof (VwGH) beziehungsweise Verfassungsgerichtshof (VfGH) offen.