Post-Control-Commission

As of January 1, 2008, a second board was set up within the TKK for the purpose of postal service regulation under the Postal Services Act (PostG). Under the relevant legislation, one member of this board is required to have expertise in the field of postal services. Since the Postal Market Act went into force on January 1, 2011, the responsibilities of the Post-Control-Commission (PCK) have included prohibiting the closure of post offices, exercising its right to raise objections with regard to general terms and conditions of business and fees, issuing, transferring, changing and revoking licences, and taking supervisory measures. RTR's Telecommunications and Postal Services Division provides operational support for the PCK. In procedures related to the nationwide availability of post offices, the PCK is also supported by the Post Office Advisory Board, which was established as a new advisory body under the Postal Market Act.

PCK Members

This commission comprises three main members and three alternate members, each of whom is appointed by the Austrian federal government for a term of five years. The PCK is chaired by Nikolaus Schaller, a judge at the Higher Regional Court Vienna.

Term of office from 5.11.2017 until 4.11.2022:

  • Nikolaus Schaller
  • Erhard Fürst
  • Sabine Joham-Neubauer

In addition, an alternate member has been appointed for each member of the commission:

  • Elfriede Solé
  • Mathias Grandosek
  • Alfred Ruzicka

Lines of command

The Post-Control-Commission (PCK) is an independent panel authority, chaired by an appointed judge.

The Austrian Federal Minister of Transport, Innovation and Technology does not have the power to issue instructions to the PCK. However, the Federal Minister is authorized to gather and request relevant information on all matters handled by this authority.

Appeals against PCK decisions can be submitted to the Federal Administrative Court (BVwG). Further appeals against BVwG decisions may be submitted to the Austrian Administrative Court (VwGH) and the Austrian Constitutional Court (VfGH).

Post-Control-Kommission

Mit 1.1.2008 wurde gemäß dem Postgesetz für die Zwecke der Postangelegenheiten bei der Telekom-Control-Kommission ein zweiter Senat eingerichtet, dem ein Mitglied mit Kenntnissen im Postwesen angehört. Seit Inkrafttreten des Postmarktgesetzes am 1.1.2011 ist die Post-Control-Kommission (PCK) unter anderem für die Untersagung der Schließung von Postgeschäftsstellen, für die Ausübung des Widerrufsrechts in Bezug auf Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen und im Bereich der Entgeltregulierung, für die Erteilung, Übertragung, Änderungen oder Widerruf von Konzessionen sowie für die Setzung von Aufsichtsmaßnahmen zuständig. Die RTR-GmbH fungiert im Fachbereich Telekommunikation und Post als Geschäftsstelle der PCK. In Verfahren betreffend die flächendeckende Versorgung mit Postgeschäftsstellen wird die PCK überdies vom - durch das Postmarktgesetz neu geschaffenen - Post-Geschäftsstellen-Beirat beraten.

Mitglieder der Post-Control-Kommission

Die PCK besteht jeweils aus drei Haupt- und Ersatzmitgliedern, die von der Bundesregierung für die Dauer von fünf Jahren ernannt werden. Dr. Elfriede Solé, Hofrätin am Obersten Gerichtshof, ist Vorsitzende der PCK.

Amtsperiode 5.11.2012 bis 4.11.2017:

  • Hofrätin Dr. Elfriede Solé (Vorsitzende)
  • Dr. Erhard Fürst
  • Mag. Sabine Joham-Neubauer

Für jedes Mitglied wurde ein Ersatzmitglied bestellt:

  • Mag. Nikolaus Schaller
  • Mag. Mathias Grandosek
  • Ing. Mag. Alfred Ruzicka

Weisungszusammenhänge

Die Post-Control-Kommission (PCK) ist eine weisungsfreie Kollegialbehörden mit einer Richterin als Vorsitzender.

Der Bundesminister für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie hat kein Weisungsrecht gegenüber der PCK. Er ist jedoch befugt, sich über alle Gegenstände der Geschäftsführung zu unterrichten und alle einschlägigen Auskünfte zu verlangen.

Bescheide der PCK können durch Beschwerde an das Bundesverwaltungsgericht (BVwG) angefochten werden. Danach steht den Parteien grundsätzlich der Rechtszug zum Verwaltungsgerichtshof (VwGH) beziehungsweise Verfassungsgerichtshof (VfGH) offen.