Other Telecom Committees/Institutions

IRG

In addition to BEREC, there is the Independent Regulators Group (IRG) based in Brussels. It was founded in 1997 and is used by its 37 members as a platform for opinion-forming and open discussions. The European Commission is not represented in the IRG. The IRG also organises workshops for junior and senior experts from the regulatory authorities. The aim is to exchange experience and know-how on a wide range of telecommunications regulation issues. IRG and BEREC meetings are held in combination to keep the time and financial effort to a minimum. The IRG is financed by membership fees. RTR makes an annual financial contribution of 13,000 euros.

OECD WP CISP

On request of the Federal Chancellery, RTR represents Austria in the Working Party on Communication Infrastructures and Services Policy (WPCISP) at the OECD. This working group is a subcommittee of the Committee on Digital Economy Policy. The mandate of this group includes the following tasks:

  • examination of the objectives and strategies in the field of communication infrastructures and services;
  • exchange of experiences and best practices;
  • the development of indicators and statistical methods;
  • analysis of the economic and social consequences of communications markets and technological changes, in particular in the field of the Internet and the convergence of broadcasting, media, telecommunications and telecommunications networks.

The OECD's central task is to develop a common understanding of economic policy measures and to promote international cooperation. The working group's contributions are generally published, for example in the OECD's Digital Economic Outlook, which is published every two years.

Further information on the OECD in the field of the digital economy can be found here.

EMERG

As a result of the Barcelona Process and the European Neighbourhood Policy, the governments of the participating countries and the European Commission have agreed on a close cooperation with neighbour countries. This also applies to the work of the regulatory authorities in the field of electronic communications in this region. In order to promote reforms and harmonisation in the field of regulation, cooperation with Mediterranean third countries was initiated. These projects are financed by the European Commission. These efforts are showing clear benefits of cooperation between the regulatory authorities of EU Member States and third countries in the Euro-Mediterranean region.

Regulators in the field of electronic communications in the Euro-Mediterranean region are collaborating to establish a network with the aim of promoting exchanges of experience and the organisation of neighbourly cooperation. This is so called Euro-Mediterranean Network of Regulators (EMERG).

EaP

The Eastern Partnership (EAP) covers a wide range of regulatory issues related to electronic communications and offers the opportunity to exchange experiences and best practices between EU regulators and partners in Eastern Europe and the South Caucasus (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine) in order to facilitate the alignment with the European Union.

ENISA

The security and integrity of networks and services at European level is addressed by the European Union Agency for Network and Information Security (ENISA), which has been established in Greece in 2004. ENISA’s tasks include assisting and advising the European Commission and the Member States on network and information security issues, in particular in the development and application of Community legislation as well as in the prevention and management of significant security incidents. On the basis of European legislation, ENISA analyses reports on security incidents in the following sectors: telecommunications, energy, transport, banking, financial market infrastructure, health and drinking water supply. ENISA regularly publishes aggregated reports on the security incidents analysed and technical guidelines for authorities and market participants. The security and integrity of networks and services are dealt with mainly in the Article 13a Expert Group, chaired by ENISA, which includes the majority of national telecoms regulators.

RSPG

The Radio Spectrum Policy Group (RSPG) is the European Commission's advisory body on radio spectrum policy issues. It supports and advises the Commission on radio spectrum policy issues, the coordination of policy approaches and measures necessary for the establishment of a harmonised European single market. Austria is represented in this committee by the Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology (BMVIT) which is supported by RTR.

The RSPG was established on the basis of a Commission Decision (2002/622/EC). The RSPG members include representatives of the EU Member States, the associated states and the states with candidate status. In addition, representatives of the European Parliament, the European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT) and the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) are involved.

RSC

The Radio Spectrum Committee (RSC) uses the comitology procedure to support the EU Commission in the development of frequency-related implementation decisions for the harmonised use of spectrum. Austria is represented in the RSC by the Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology (BMVIT) which is supported by RTR.

CEPT

The European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT) is an organisation for cooperation between the 48 European member states in the field of postal and telecommunications regulation.

Austria is represented in CEPT by the Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology (BMVIT) and RTR, whereby the telecommunications agendas are anchored in the Electronic Communications Committee (ECC). The following working groups are currently active in the ECC:

  • Preparation of the World Radiocommunication Conference (Conference Preparatory Group, CPG)
  • Frequency management (Working Group Frequency Management, WG FM)
  • Radio compatibility (Working Group Spectrum Engineering, WG SE)
  • Numbering (Working Group Numbering and Networks, WG NaN)

RTR is mainly active in the group for numbering issues, sometimes also in frequency matters to support the ministry.

ETSI

The European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) is a non-profit organisation which is recognised by the European Union as a European organisation for standardisation with the aim of developing globally applicable standards for information and communication technologies.

RTR is a member of ETSI and monitors developments in this body that are relevant for regulatory activities.

ITU

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) is a specialized United Nations agency that deals with the technical aspects of telecommunications worldwide, subdividing it into the areas of radio, telecommunications and development aid.

Austria is represented in the ITU by the Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology (BMVIT), while RTR follows developments relevant for regulatory activities.

Council Working Group Telecom

Regulations, directives and decisions at EU level are prepared by Council Working Groups composed of representatives of the EU Member States and covering the entire spectrum of EU activities. These more than 200 working groups work in conjunction with the Permanent Representatives Committee (Coreper). Depending on requirements, they are set up for a short period or as longer-term committees.

As a rule, the Council Working Groups' deliberations are based on proposals from the Commission, which also take part in the meetings of the Council Working Groups themselves. On the basis of the results of the Council Working Group meetings, the Permanent Representatives Committee prepares the Council meetings. Matters on which agreement can already be reached at Council Working Groups or Coreper level will be submitted to the competent ministers of the Member States for adoption as an "A-item" without further debate.

Upon request, RTR supports the BMVIT mainly in matters relating to the competencies of the regulatory authorities, on the one hand by preparing written statements and on the other hand by attending meetings of the Council Working Group.

European Commission

Consultations of the European Commission can be found here.

The Roadmap on the WACC initiative can be found here.

The latest news from the Directorate-General Communication Networks, Content and Technologies of the European Commission (DG CONNECT), such as calls for tenders, events or reports, are published here. In the DC CONNECT newsletter you can find additionally information on developments, current events, publications, etc. You can subscribe here.

Information from the Directorate-General for Competition (DG COMP) can be found here.

Decisions of the European Commission as competition authority are published here.

Reports

Report on the implementation of the roaming regulation

Studies

Cross-cutting business models for Internet of Things (IoT)

Report on the implementation of the Broadband Cost Reduction Directive

Study on Broadband Coverage in Europe 2017

Consultations

The European Commission launched the consultation "Targeted consultation on guidance on cost of capital for EU electronic communications regulators". Input can be provided until 3 October 2018.

 

European Parliament

Information on the work of the European Parliament can be found here.

An overview on current legal projects at European level for the “Connected Digital Single Market”, such as the 5G Action Plan, Electronic Communications Code, BEREC or e-Privacy, are published here under the title "legislative train schedule".

The general search function of the European Parliament provides good accessibility to all essential information of parliamentary work.

It can be accessed here and basically distinguishes between the following information sections:

     Home
     Metings
     Documents
     Events
     Supporting analyses

Of particular interest to the electronic communications sector are the committees ITRE, IMCO and LIBE. Some relevant links to the work of the committees can be found below.

 

ITRE Committee (Industry, Research and Energy)

Further information on the ITRE Committee (e.g. on meetings, documents, events, dossiers etc.) is available here.

In the context of the RTR activities, the following links (without claim to completeness) are currently worth mentioning:

Reports

Report on the proposal for a directive of the European Parliament and of the Council establishing the European Electronic Communications Code (EECC) (recast)

Dossiers

European Electronic Communications Code (EECC)

Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC)

Promotion of Internet connectivity in local communities (WiFi4EU)

Use of the 470-790 MHz frequency band in the Union (“spectrum”)

Analyses

European Leadership in 5G

European Leadership in 5G In-depth analysis

 

IMCO Committee (Internal Market and Consumer Protection)

Further information on the IMCO Committee (e.g. on meetings, documents, events, dossiers etc.) is available here.

In the context of the RTR activities, the following links (without claim to completeness) are currently worth mentioning:

Dossiers

Working Group on a Digital Single Market

European Electronic Communications Code (Recast)

eCall

Contract rules on the supply of digital content

Analyses

Geo-Blocking

News

Geo-blocking and other forms of discrimination

 

LIBE Committee (Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs)

Further information on the LIBE Committee (e.g. on meetings, documents, events, dossiers etc.) is available here.

Report on the proposal for a regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council concerning the respect for private life and the protection of personal data in electronic communications and repealing Directive 2002/58/EC (Regulation on Privacy and Electronic Communications)

 

Proposal for a REGULATION OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND OF THE COUNCIL on ENISA, the "EU Cybersecurity Agency", and repealing Regulation (EU) 526/2013, and on Information and Communication Technology cybersecurity certification (''Cybersecurity Act'')

Court of Justice of the European Union

More detailed information on the Court of Justice of the European Union (ECJ), which has the task of ensuring that the law is respected in the interpretation and application of the European Treaties, can be found here and decisions are published here.

 

A small selection of interesting decisions of the Court of Justice

  • C-426/05 - Tele2 Telecommunication

In its judgment of 21 February 2008 in Case C-426/05, the Court of Justice ruled that competitors of undertakings which may be subject to specific obligations in a market analysis procedure under Article 16 of Directive 2002/21/EC may also appeal against the decision of the regulatory authority. Further information can be found here.

  • C-282/13 - T-Mobile Austria

In Case C-282/13, the Court of Justice again had to deal with the issue of involvement/party status in telecom-regulatory matters. In its judgment of 22 January 2015, the Court of Justice recognised that certain provisions of the Framework Directive were to be interpreted as meaning that "an undertaking may be regarded as a party concerned within the meaning of Directive 2002/21/EC where that undertaking which offers electronic communications networks or services is a competitor of the undertaking or undertakings which has provided or is providing electronic communications networks or services, the party (s) to the procedure for approving the modification of its ownership structure and addressee (s) of the decision of the national regulatory authority, and where that decision is likely to have an impact on the market position of the first-mentioned undertaking". Further information can be found here.

  • C-28/15 - Koninklijke KPN NV u. a.

In Case C-28/15, the Court of Justice ruled on 15 September 2002 on the disputed issue of the termination regulation. In 2016, the Court ruled that, in a dispute over the legality of a price obligation imposed by the national regulatory authority for termination of calls on fixed and mobile telephone networks, a national court is only allowed to deviate from the termination recommendation "if it considers this to be appropriate in view of the actual circumstances of the specific case, in particular the specific characteristics of the market in the Member State concerned.“ Further informationcan be found here.

  • C-256/05 – Telekom Austria

In Case C-256/05 concerning a reference for a preliminary ruling submitted by the Telekom-Control Commission, the Court of Justice ruled on 6 October 2005 that it was not competent to answer a question referred by the Telekom-Control Commission. The question was asked whether a European Commission decision calling on the Telekom-Control Commission to withdraw a notified draft measure concerning the market for "transit services in the fixed public telephone network" was valid. The Court of Justice's refusal was based on the fact that "there is no action pending before the Telekom-Control Commission", which is why the Telekom-Control Commission cannot submit a preliminary ruling to the Court of Justice for an assessment of its validity.  Further information can be found here.

Andere TK-Gremien/Institutionen

IRG

Neben BEREC gibt es die Independent Regulators Group (IRG) mit Sitz in Brüssel. Sie wurde bereits 1997 gegründet und wird von den 37 Mitgliedern vor allem als Plattform zur Meinungsbildung und für offene Diskussionen genutzt. Die Europäische Kommission ist in der IRG nicht vertreten. Außerdem werden im Rahmen der IRG Workshops organisiert, die sowohl für Junior als auch Senior Experts der Regulierungsbehörden ausgerichtet werden. Ziel ist der Erfahrungsaustausch und der Know-how-Transfer zu unterschiedlichsten Themen der Telekommunikationsregulierung. Um den zeitlichen und finanziellen Aufwand gering zu halten, finden IRG- und BEREC-Meetings kombiniert statt. Die Finanzierung der IRG erfolgt durch Mitgliedsbeiträge. Die RTR-GmbH leistet hier jährlich einen finanziellen Beitrag von 13.000,- Euro.

OECD WP CISP

Auf Ersuchen des Bundeskanzleramts vertritt die RTR Österreich in der Working Party on Communication Infrastructures and Services Policy (WP CISP) bei der OECD. Diese Arbeitsgruppe ist ein Unterausschuss des Committee on Digital Economy Policy. Der Arbeitsauftrag dieser Gruppe umfasst folgendes:

  • die Untersuchung der Ziele und Strategien im Bereich der Kommunikationsinfrastrukturen und –dienstleistungen;
  • den Austausch von Erfahrungen und bewährter Praktiken;
  • die Entwicklung von Indikatoren und statistischer Methoden;
  • die Analyse der wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Folgen von Kommunikationsmärkten und technologischen Veränderungen, insbesondere im Bereich des Internets und der Konvergenz von Rundfunk, Medien und Telekommunikation sowie von Telekommunikationsnetzen.

Zentrale Aufgabe im Rahmen der OECD ist die Entwicklung eines gemeinsamen Verständnisses der wirtschaftspolitischen Maßnahmen sowie die Förderung der internationalen Kooperation. Die Beiträge der Arbeitsgruppe werden in der Regel veröffentlicht - etwa im alle zwei Jahre erscheinenden Digital Economic Outlook der OECD.

Weitere Informationen zur OECD im Bereich der digitalen Wirtschaft finden Sie unter hier.

EMERG

Als Ergebnis des Barcelona-Prozesses und der Europäischen Nachbarschaftspolitik haben sich die Regierungen der Teilnehmerländer und die Europäische Kommission auf einen Kurs enger Zusammenarbeit und Annäherung verständigt, dem auf Grund der besonderen nachbarschaftlichen Beziehungen und der gemeinsamen Interessen hinsichtlich Sicherheit und Wohlstand hohe Bedeutung beigemessen werden sollte. Dies gilt auch für die Arbeit der Regulierungsbehörden im Bereich der elektronischen Kommunikation in dieser Region. Um Reformen und Harmonisierung im Bereich der Regulierung voranzutreiben, gestaltet sich die Zusammenarbeit in den Drittländern im Mittelmeerraum seit 2001 in Form der von der Europäischen Kommission finanzierten NATP-I- und NATP-II-Projekte. Im Zuge dieser Bemühungen zeigte sich ein klarer Nutzen der Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Regulierungsbehörden von EU-Mitgliedsstaaten und Drittländern in der Region Europa-Mittelmeer.

Die Regulierungsbehörden im Bereich der elektronischen Kommunikation der Region Europa-Mittelmeer haben sich zur Stärkung ihrer Zusammenarbeit und zum Aufbau eines Netzwerks im Form des Euro-Mediterranean Network of Regulators (EMERG) zusammengeschlossen, mit dem Ziel der Förderung von Erfahrungsaustausch und der Organisation nachbarschaftlicher Kooperation.

EaP

Die Arbeitsgruppe „Östliche Partnerschaft“ (Eastern Partnership/EaP) deckt ein breites Spektrum von Regulierungsfragen im Zusammenhang mit der elektronischen Kommunikation ab und bietet die Möglichkeit, Erfahrungen und bewährte Verfahren zwischen den EU-Regulierungsbehörden und Partnern in Osteuropa und im Südkaukasus (Armenien, Aserbaidschan, Belarus, Georgien, Moldau und Ukraine) auszutauschen, um die Angleichung an die Europäische Union zu erleichtern.

ENISA

Mit Fragen der Sicherheit und der Integrität von Netzen und Diensten befasst sich auf europäischer Ebene vor allem die seit 2004 bestehende Agentur der Europäischen Union für Netz- und Informationssicherheit (ENISA) mit Sitz in Griechenland. Zu den Aufgaben der ENISA zählen die Unterstützung und die Beratung der Europäischen Kommission und der Mitgliedsstaaten in Fragen der Netz- und Informationssicherheit, insbesondere bei der Weiterentwicklung und Anwendung gemeinschaftlicher Rechtsvorschriften sowie bei der Prävention und Bewältigung signifikanter Sicherheitsvorfälle. Auf Basis verschiedener europäischer Rechtsvorschriften analysiert die ENISA Berichte von Sicherheitsvorfällen aus den Sektoren Telekommunikation, Energie, Verkehr, Bankwesen, Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen, Gesundheitswesen, Trinkwasserlieferung und -versorgung, digitale Infrastruktur und Vertrauensdienste. Die ENISA veröffentlicht regelmäßig aggregierte Berichte über die analysierten Sicherheitsvorfälle sowie technische Leitfäden für Behörden und Marktteilnehmer. Sicherheit und Integrität von Netzen und Diensten werden hauptsächlich in der von der ENISA geleiteten „Article 13a Expert Group“ behandelt, in der auch die meisten nationalen Regulierungsbehörden für Telekommunikation vertreten sind.

RSPG

Die Radio Spectrum Policy Group (RSPG) ist das Beratergremium der Europäischen Kommission bei frequenzbezogenen Themen. Es unterstützt und berät die Kommission in frequenzpolitischen Fragen, bei der Koordinierung der politischen Ansätze sowie bei Maßnahmen, die für die Errichtung eines harmonisierten europäischen Binnenmarktes notwendig sind. Österreich wird in diesem Gremium durch das Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie (BMVIT) vertreten, welches durch die RTR-GmbH unterstützt wird.

Die RSPG wurde auf Grundlage eines Beschlusses der Kommission (2002/622/EC) eingerichtet. Zu den RSPG-Mitgliedern zählen Repräsentanten der EU-Mitglieds­staaten, der assoziierten Staaten sowie der Staaten mit Kandidatenstatus. Darüber hinaus arbeiten Vertreter des EU-Parlamentes, der European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT) sowie des European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) mit.

RSC

Das Radio Spectrum Committee (RSC) unterstützt im Wege des Komitologieverfahrens die Europäische Kommission bei der Entwicklung frequenz­technischer Umsetzungsentscheidungen im Sinne einer harmonisierten Nutzung von Frequenzspektrum. Österreich wird im RSC durch das Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie (BMVIT) vertreten, welches durch die RTR-GmbH unterstützt wird.

CEPT

Die European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT) ist eine Organisation zur Zusammenarbeit der 48 europäischen Mitgliedsstaaten im Bereich der Post- und Telekommunikationsregulierung.

Österreich wird in der CEPT durch das Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie (BMVIT) und die RTR-GmbH vertreten, wobei die Telekommunikationsagenden im  Electronic Communications Committee (ECC) verankert sind. Aktuell sind im ECC folgenden Arbeitsgruppen aktiv:

  • Vorbereitung der Weltfunkkonferenz (Conference Preperatory Group, CPG)
  • Frequenzmanagement (Working Group Frequency Management, WG FM)
  • Funkverträglichkeit (Working Group Spectrum Engineering, WG SE)
  • Nummerierung (Working Group Numbering and Networks, WG NaN)

Die RTR-GmbH ist in der Gruppe für Nummerierungsfragen aktiv, punktuell auch bei Frequenzangelegenheiten zur Unterstützung des BMVIT.

ETSI

Das European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) ist eine gemeinnützige Organisation, welche von der Europäischen Union als Europäische Organisation für Normung anerkannt ist und das Ziel verfolgt, weltweit anwendbare Standards für die Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien zu entwickeln.

Die RTR-GmbH ist Mitglied von ETSI und verfolgt die für die Regulierungstätigkeit relevanten Entwicklungen in diesem Gremium.

ITU

Die International Telecommunication Union (ITU) ist eine Sonderorganisation der Vereinten Nationen, die sich weltweit mit technischen Aspekten der Telekommunikation befasst wobei es eine Untergliederung in die Bereiche Funk, Telekommunikation und Entwicklungshilfe gibt.

Österreich wird in der ITU durch das Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie (BMVIT) vertreten, die RTR-GmbH verfolgt die für die Regulierungstätigkeit relevanten Entwicklungen.

Ratsarbeitsgruppe Telekom

Verordnungen, Richtlinien und Entscheidungen auf EU-Ebene werden von Ratsarbeitsgruppen (RAG) vorbereitet, die sich aus Vertretern und Vertreterinnen der EU-Mitgliedsstaaten zusammensetzen und das gesamte Spektrum der EU-Tätigkeit abdecken. Diese mehr als 200 Arbeitsgruppen arbeiten dem Ausschuss der Ständigen Vertreter (AStV) zu. Sie werden je nach Bedarf nur für kurze Zeit oder als längerfristige Gremien eingerichtet.

Grundlage der Beratungen der Ratsarbeitsgruppen sind in der Regel Vorschläge der Kommission, die an den Sitzungen der Ratsarbeitsgruppen auch selbst teilnimmt. Auf Basis der Ergebnisse der Ratsarbeitsgruppensitzungen bereitet der Ausschuss der Ständigen Vertreter die Sitzungen des Rats vor. Angelegenheiten, über die bereits auf Ebene der Ratsarbeitsgruppen, oder auf Ebene des AStV Einigung erzielt werden kann, werden den zuständigen Ministern und Ministerinnen der Mitgliedsstaaten als so genannter "A-Punkt" zur Annahme ohne weitere Debatte vorgelegt.

Die RTR-GmbH unterstützt das BMVIT auf Einladung  im Wesentlichen bei Themen, die Kompetenzen der Regulierungsbehörden betreffen, einerseits durch die Vorbereitung schriftlicher Stellungnahmen und andererseits auch durch die Teilnahme an Sitzungen der RAG.

Europäisches Parlament

Informationen über die Arbeit des Europäischen Parlaments finden sich hier.

Übersichtlich aufbereitete Informationen zu aktuellen rechtlichen Vorhaben auf europäischer Ebene zum „Connected Digital Single Market“, wie 5G Action Plan, Electronic Communications Code, BEREC oder e-Privacy, werden unter dem Titel „Legislative train schedule“ hier publiziert.

Die allgemeine Suchfunktion des Europäischen Parlaments bietet gute Zugänglichkeit zu allen wesentlichen Informationen der Parlamentsarbeit.

Sie kann hier aufgerufen werden und unterscheidet grundsätzlich je Ausschuss zwischen folgenden Informationsleisten:

  • Von besonderem Interesse
  • Sitzungen
  • Dokumente
  • Veranstaltungen und
  • Ergänzende Analysen

Für den Bereich elektronische Kommunikation sind von besonderem Interesse die Ausschüsse ITRE, IMCO und LIBE. Einige relevante Links zur Tätigkeit der Ausschüsse finden sich im Folgenden.

 

Der ITRE-Ausschuss (Industrie, Forschung und Energie)

Weiterführende Informationen zum ITRE-Ausschuss (etwa zu Sitzungen, bereitgestellten Dokumenten, Veranstaltungen, Dossiers etc.) sind hier verfügbar.

Im Kontext der RTR-Tätigkeiten sind aktuell etwa folgende Links zur ITRE-Ausschusstätigkeit (ohne Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit) erwähnenswert:

Bericht über den Vorschlag für eine Richtlinie des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates über den europäischen Kodex für die elektronische Kommunikation (Neufassung)

Dossiers

European Electronic Communications Code (EECC)

Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC)

Promotion of Internet connectivity in local communities (WiFi4EU)

Use of the 470-790 MHz frequency band in the Union (“spectrum”)

Ergänzende Analysen

European Leadership in 5G

European Leadership in 5G, Ergänzende Detailstudie, 2016

Der IMCO-Ausschuss (Binnenmarkt und Verbraucherschutz)

Weiterführende Informationen zum IMCO-Ausschuss (etwa zu Sitzungen, bereitgestellten Dokumenten, Veranstaltungen, Dossiers etc. sind hier verfügbar.

Im Kontext der RTR-Tätigkeiten sind aktuell etwa folgende Links zur IMCO-Ausschusstätigkeit (ohne Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit) erwähnenswert:

Dossiers

Working Group on a Digital Single Market

European Electronic Communications Code (Recast)

eCall

Contract rules on the supply of digital content

Ergänzende Analysen

Geo-Blocking

Neuigkeiten

Geo-blocking and other forms of discrimination

 

Der LIBE-Ausschuss (bürgerliche Freiheiten, Justiz und Inneres)

Weiterführende Informationen zum LIBE-Ausschuss (etwa zu Sitzungen, bereitgestellten Dokumenten, Veranstaltungen, Dossiers etc. sind hier verfügbar:

Bericht über den Vorschlag für eine Verordnung des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates über die Achtung des Privatlebens und den Schutz personenbezogener Daten in der elektronischen Kommunikation und zur Aufhebung der Richtlinie 2002/58/EG (Verordnung über Privatsphäre und elektronische Kommunikation)

Entwurf einer Stellungnahme zu dem Vorschlag für eine Verordnung des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates über die „EU-Cybersicherheitsagentur“ (ENISA) und zur Aufhebung der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 526/2013 sowie über die Zertifizierung der Cybersicherheit von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik („Rechtsakt zur Cybersicherheit“)

Gerichtshof der Europäischen Union

Nähere Informationen über den Gerichtshof der Europäischen Union (EuGH), dem die Aufgabe zukommt, die Wahrung des Rechts bei der Auslegung und Anwendung der Europäischen Verträge zu sichern, finden sich hier.

Entscheidungen werden hier publiziert.

 

Eine kleine Auswahl interessanter Entscheidungen des Gerichtshofes

  • C-426/05 - Tele2 Telecommunication

Mit Urteil vom 21.2.2008 in der Rechtssache C-426/05 hat Gerichtshof erkannt, dass auch Wettbewerber von Unternehmen, denen in einem Marktanalyseverfahren nach Art. 16 der Richtlinie 2002/21/EG spezifische Pflichten auferlegt werden können, einen Rechtsbehelf gegen die Entscheidung der Regulierungsbehörde erheben können. Nähere Informationen finden Sie hier.

  • C-282/13 - T-Mobile Austria

In der Rechtssache C-282/13 hatte sich der Gerichtshof wieder mit der Frage der Betroffenheit bzw der Parteistellung in telekom-regulatorischen Fragen auseinanderzusetzen. Mit Urteil vom 22.1.2015 erkannte der Gerichtshof, dass bestimmte Bestimmungen der Rahmenrichtlinie dahingehend auszulegen sind, dass „ein Unternehmen als Betroffener im Sinne der Richtlinie 2002/21/EG angesehen werden kann, wenn dieses Unternehmen, das elektronische Kommunikationsnetze oder ‑dienste anbietet, ein Wettbewerber des Unternehmens oder der Unternehmen ist, das bzw. die Partei(en) des Verfahrens zur Genehmigung der Änderung seiner bzw. ihrer Eigentümerstruktur und Adressat(en) der Entscheidung der nationalen Regulierungsbehörde ist bzw. sind, und wenn diese Entscheidung geeignet ist, sich auf die Marktstellung des erstgenannten Unternehmens auszuwirken.“ Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie hier.

  • C-28/15 - Koninklijke KPN NV u. a.

In der Sache C-28/15 hat der Gerichtshof in der strittigen Frage der Terminierungsregulierung am 15.9.2016 geurteilt, dass es einem nationalen Gericht in einem Rechtsstreit über die Rechtmäßigkeit einer von der nationalen Regulierungsbehörde für die Vornahme von Anrufzustellungen in Fest‑ und Mobilfunknetzen auferlegten Preisverpflichtung nur dann gestattet ist, von der Terminierungsempfehlung abzuweichen, „wenn es dies aufgrund der tatsächlichen Umstände des konkreten Falles, insbesondere der Besonderheiten des Marktes des betreffenden Mitgliedstaats, für geboten erachtet.“ Nähere Informationen dazu finde Sie hier.

  • C-256/05 – Telekom Austria

In der Rechtssache C-256/05 betreffend eines von der Telekom-Control-Kommission eingereichten Vorabentscheidungsersuchens hat der Gerichtshof mit Beschluss vom 6.10.2005 ausgesprochen, für die Beantwortung einer von der Telekom-Control-Kommission vorgelegten Frage unzuständig zu sein. Gefragt wurde, ob eine Entscheidung der Europäischen Kommission, mit der die Telekom-Control-Kommission aufgefordert wird, einen notifizierten Maßnahmenentwurf betreffend den Markt für „Transitdienste im öffentlichen Festtelefonnetz“ zurückzuziehen, gültig ist. Die Ablehnung des Gerichtshofes wurde damit begründet, dass „bei der Telekom-Control-Kommission kein Rechtsstreit anhängig ist“, weswegen die Telekom-Control-Kommission dem Gerichtshof kein Vorabentscheidungsersuchen zur Beurteilung der Gültigkeit vorlegen kann. Näheres dazu finden Sie hier.