Security and integrity of networks and services

Current issues

As of 2014, new thresholds apply as regards obligations for notification of incidents to RTR. According to that, even short disruptions have to be notified to RTR if they concern a larger number of subscribers. As of now, an electronic form is available in the e-government area of the RTR website in order to simplify submissions to RTR. Until further notice, the Word file available for download at the end of the page will also be kept. Regarding notification obligations involving emergency calls, provisions have been clarified in that an incident has to be notified to RTR in any case if a network termination point of an emergency control centre is not regularly accessible. In addition, examples for notifications regarding failure of emergency calls are provided for information purposes (available in German only).

 

Notification of incidents having a significant impact on the availability of communications networks or services

Pursuant to Art. 16a Par. 5 of the Austrian Telecommunications Act (TKG) 2003, providers  of public communications networks or services are required to notify  the regulatory authority of security breaches or losses of integrity where such incidents have a significant impact on the operation of networks or services. These reports are to be submitted in the form prescribed by the regulatory authority.

In applying this provision, the regulatory authority based its considerations on the requirements specified in the Technical Guideline on Incident Reporting published by the European Network and Information Security Agency (ENISA). In particular, this concerns the definition of circumstances under which the impact of an incident is considered so significant that it must be reported to the regulatory authority. The notification obligation is contingent upon the availability of emergency numbers as well as the duration of the incident and the number of users  affected in each service category. In this context, the service categories of fixed telephony, mobile telephony, fixed and mobile Internet access are distinguished.

  • An incident must be notified in any case if an emergency number is not accessible from a communications network for subscribers of a publicly available telephone service. Non-accessibility of an emergency number must be notified even if the telephone service is only partially available from the subscriber's point of view (e.g., if only some numbers are accessible for the subscriber but at least one emergency number is not). Moreover, an incident must be notified if the telephone service of the emergency control centre at which the emergency call terminates is not available for passive calls, independently of whether or not emergency numbers are accessible (e.g., by means of automatic forwarding).
  • Otherwise, an incident must be notified if it lasts more than x hours and affects more than y users in the respective service category. The values of x (duration) and y (number of users) are derived from the following table:
Service category / Duration≤1h>1h>2h>4h>6h>8h>16h
Fixed telephony1.000.000400.000250.000130.00050.00030.00010.000
Mobile telephony1.000.000500.000250.000170.000130.00060.00010.000
Fixed Internet access1.000.000320.000210.000110.00040.00020.00010.000
Mobile Internet access1.000.000500.000250.000170.000110.00050.00010.000

Example: If a disruption of a fixed network telephony service lasts 1:45 hours, then the value in the column "> 1 h" is to be applied. Therefore, the incident must be notified to the regulatory authority if more than 400,000 users are affected.

Examples for notification obligatons regarding incidents involving emergency numbers are available for download at the end of the page (available in German only, "Mitteilungspflicht bei Ausfall von Notrufnummern").

As of now, an electronic form for notification of the regulatory authority is available in the e-government area of the RTR website (see https://egov.rtr.at/). As the case may be, this form can also be completed at a later time (e.g., when detailed information is available). Alternatively, the form available on this page can be used for notification purposes. The notification must be sent via e-mail to nis @ rtr.at.

In any case, the notification must be filed immediately when the incident occurs in order to ensure that the regulatory authority can take action without delay. Information not available at the time of notification can also be submitted additionally at a later point.

Measures to ensure the security and integrity of networks and services

Under Art. 16a Par. 1 TKG 2003, providers of public communications networks are obliged to take appropriate measures to guarantee the integrity of their networks and to ensure the continuity of services provided over those networks. According to Art. 16a Par. 2 TKG 2003, providers of public communications networks or services, having regard to the state of the art, are required to take appropriate technical and organisational measures  to ensure a level of security appropriate to the risks posed. In particular, the measures must be appropriate for preventing or minimising the impact of security incidents on users and interconnected networks.

These rules transpose the provisions of EU law into Austrian law. For the practical implementation of these provisions, ENISA cooperated with the EU Member States in preparing the Technical Guideline for Minimum Security Measures, which breaks down the measures to be taken into different domains and subdomains. Providers are advised to use this document as guidance for selecting security measures.

According to Art. 16a Par. 9 TKG 2003, the Federal Minister for Transport, Innovation and Technology, after consulting the regulatory authority and taking the relevant international rules into consideration, is to issue an ordinance  specifying provisions for the implementation of Art. 16a. As the Technical Guideline for Minimum Security Measures aims at harmonising security levels and is supported by the EU Member States, it is expected that the document's content will be taken into account in this ordinance.

Notifications of personal data breaches

According to Art. 2 Par. 1 and 2 of Commission Regulation (EU) No 611/2013 on the measures applicable to the notification of personal data breaches under Directive 2002/58/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council (Directive on privacy and electronic communications), in case of a personal data breach, operators of electronic communications services must notify the competent national authority (i.e., according to Art. 95a TKG 2003 the Data Protection Authority, dsb@dsb.gv.at, +43-1-531 15 / 202525, 1010 Wien, Hohenstaufeng. 3) within 24 hours after the detection of a personal data breach. The notification to the Data Protection Authority shall include the information set out in Annex I of the mentioned Regulation.
When the personal data breach is likely to adversely affect the personal data or privacy of a subscriber or individual, the provider shall, according to Art. 3 Par. 1 of the Regulation, also notify the subscriber or individual of the breach. According to Art. 4 Par. 1 of the Regulation, notification of a personal data breach to a subscriber or individual concerned shall not be required if the provider has demonstrated to the satisfaction of the competent national authority that it has implemented appropriate technological protection measures, and that those measures were applied to the data concerned by the security breach.

Data security measures

Art. 95 Par. 1 TKG 2003 obliges operators of public communications services to issue data security measures for each service provided by the operator. In case of a particular risk of a violation of confidentiality, the operator must, according to Art. 95 Par. 2 TKG 2003, inform the subscriber concerning such risk and, where the risk lies outside the scope of the measures to be taken by the operator, of any possible remedies including their costs. Moreover, operators of public communications services must take data security measures for the following purposes in any case:

  • to ensure that personal data can be accessed only by authorised personnel for legally authorised purposes;
  • to protect personal data stored or transmitted against accidental or unlawful destruction, accidental loss or alteration, and unauthorised or unlawful storage, processing, access or disclosure;
  • to ensure the implementation of a security policy with respect to the processing of personal data.

RTR as the competent regulatory authority according to Art. 95 Par. 3 TKG 2003 may review the measures taken by the operators of public communications services and issue recommendations with regard to the security level to be reached. In order to review the measures, RTR may request the operator according to Art. 90 TKG 2003 to provide the required information.

Links

Downloads

Sicherheit und Integrität von Netzen und Diensten

Aktuelles

Ab dem Jahr 2014 werden neue Schwellwerte herangezogen, nach denen Verpflichtungen zur Mitteilung von Vorfällen an die RTR-GmbH bestehen. Demnach sind auch kurze Störungen, die aber einen größeren Teilnehmerkreis betreffen, der RTR-GmbH mitzuteilen.

Zur Vereinfachung der Eingaben an die RTR-GmbH steht ab sofort im E-Governmentbereich (siehe https://egov.rtr.at) ein Eingabeformular zur Verfügung. Das Word-File, welches am Ende der Seite zum Download bereitsteht, wird bis auf Weiteres ergänzend bestehen bleiben.

Im Bereich der Mitteilungspflicht betreffend Notrufe wurde die Regelung dahingehend klargestellt, dass ein Vorfall jedenfalls der RTR-GmbH mitzuteilen ist, wenn ein Anschluss einer Leitstelle nicht planmäßig erreichbar ist. Ergänzend stehen Beispiele für Meldungen des Ausfalls von Notrufen zur Information zur Verfügung.

Mitteilungen über Vorfälle mit beträchtlichen Auswirkungen auf die Verfügbarkeit von Kommunikationsnetzen oder -diensten

Gemäß § 16a Abs 5 TKG 2003 haben Betreiber öffentlicher Kommunikationsnetze oder -dienste der Regulierungsbehörde Sicherheitsverletzungen oder einen Verlust der Integrität in der von der Regulierungsbehörde vorgeschriebenen Form mitzuteilen, sofern dadurch beträchtliche Auswirkungen auf den Netzbetrieb oder die Dienstebereitstellung eingetreten sind.

Die Regulierungsbehörde orientiert sich bei der Anwendung dieser Bestimmung an den Vorgaben, die in dem von der Europäischen Agentur für Netz- und Informationssicherheit (ENISA) veröffentlichten Dokument Technical Guideline on Incident Reporting festgelegt sind. Dies betrifft insbesondere die Abgrenzung, unter welchen Voraussetzungen die Auswirkungen eines Vorfalls so beträchtlich sind, dass der Vorfall der Regulierungsbehörde mitgeteilt werden muss. Ob eine Mitteilungspflicht besteht, hängt einerseits von der Erreichbarkeit von Notrufnummern, andererseits von der Dauer des Vorfalls und von der Anzahl der betroffenen Teilnehmer in der jeweiligen Dienstekategorie ab, wobei zwischen den Dienstekategorien Festnetztelefonie, Mobiltelefonie, feste und mobile Internetzugänge unterschieden wird.

  • Ein Vorfall ist jedenfalls mitzuteilen, wenn eine Notrufnummer aus einem Kommunikationsnetz für Teilnehmer eines verfügbaren öffentlichen Telefondienstes nicht erreichbar ist.
    Die Nichterreichbarkeit einer Notrufnummer ist auch dann mitzuteilen, wenn der Telefondienst aus Sicht des Teilnehmers nur teilweise verfügbar ist (beispielsweise, wenn für Teilnehmer lediglich einige Rufnummern erreichbar sind, aber zumindest eine Notrufnummer nicht).
    Darüber hinaus ist ein Vorfall auch dann mitzuteilen, wenn der Telefondienst der Notrufleitstelle, an dem ein Notruf terminiert, für passive Gespräche nicht verfügbar ist, unabhängig davon, ob die Notrufnummer (z.B. durch automatische Weiterleitung) erreichbar ist oder nicht.
  • Andernfalls ist ein Vorfall dann mitzuteilen, wenn er mehr als x Stunden dauert und mehr als y Teilnehmer der jeweiligen Dienstekategorie betrifft. Die Werte x (Dauer) und y (Teilnehmeranzahl) ergeben sich dabei aus folgender Tabelle:
Dienstekategorie / Dauer≤ 1 h> 1 h> 2 h> 4 h> 6 h> 8 h> 16 h
Festnetztelefonie1.000.000400.000250.000130.00050.00030.00010.000
Mobiltelefonie1.000.000500.000250.000170.000130.00060.00010.000
Feste Internetzugänge1.000.000320.000210.000110.00040.00020.00010.000
Mobile Internetzugänge1.000.000500.000250.000170.000110.00050.00010.000

Beispiel: Dauert der Ausfall eines Festnetz-Telefoniedienstes 1:45 Stunden, so ist der Wert in der Spalte „> 1 h” anzuwenden. Der Ausfall ist also der Regulierungsbehörde mitzuteilen, wenn mehr als 400.000 Teilnehmer davon betroffen sind.

Beispiele für Meldepflichten betreffend Vorfällen, die Notrufnummern betreffen, stehen am Ende der Seite zum Download zur Verfügung.

Für die Mitteilung an die Regulierungsbehörde steht ab sofort im E-Governmentbereich der RTR-GmbH (siehe https://egov.rtr.at) ein elektronisches Formular zur Verfügung. Dieses kann bei Bedarf auch zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt (etwa wenn detailliertere Informationen vorliegen) ergänzt werden.

Alternativ kann für die Meldung an die RTR-GmbH das von dieser Seite aus abrufbare Formular verwendet werden. Die Mitteilung hat per E-Mail an die Adresse nis@rtr.at zu erfolgen.

Eine Mitteilung ist jedenfalls unverzüglich bei Auftreten eines Vorfalles einzubringen, damit die Regulierungsbehörde ohne Aufschub tätig werden kann. Informationen, die zum Zeitpunkt der Mitteilung noch nicht verfügbar sind, können zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt nachgereicht werden.

Maßnahmen zur Gewährleistung der Sicherheit und der Integrität von Netzen und Diensten

Gemäß § 16a Abs 1 TKG 2003 haben Betreiber öffentlicher Kommunikationsnetze geeignete Maßnahmen zur Gewährleistung der Integrität ihrer Netze zu ergreifen und die fortlaufende Verfügbarkeit der über diese Netze erbrachten Dienste sicher zu stellen. Gemäß § 16a Abs 2 TKG 2003 haben Betreiber öffentlicher Kommunikationsnetze oder -dienste unter Berücksichtigung des Standes der Technik durch angemessene technische und organisatorische Maßnahmen ein Sicherheitsniveau zu gewährleisten, das zur Beherrschung der Risiken für die Netzsicherheit geeignet ist. Die Maßnahmen müssen insbesondere geeignet sein, Auswirkungen von Sicherheitsverletzungen für Nutzer und zusammengeschaltete Netze zu vermeiden bzw. so gering wie möglich zu halten.

Mit diesen Vorschriften werden Bestimmungen des Unionsrechts in österreichisches Recht umgesetzt. Zur Konkretisierung dieser Bestimmungen hat die ENISA gemeinsam mit den Mitgliedstaaten der EU das Dokument Technical Guideline for Minimum Security Measures verfasst, das die zu ergreifenden Maßnahmen in verschiedene Bereiche und Teilbereiche gliedert. Betreibern wird empfohlen, sich bei der Auswahl ihrer Sicherheitsmaßnahmen an diesem Dokument zu orientieren.

Gemäß § 16a Abs 9 TKG 2003 legt der Bundesminister für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie nach Anhörung der Regulierungsbehörde unter Bedachtnahme auf die relevanten internationalen Vorschriften mit Verordnung die näheren Bestimmungen zur Umsetzung des § 16a fest. Da die Technical Guideline for Minimum Security Measures die Harmonisierung des Sicherheitsniveaus zum Ziel hat und von den Mitgliedstaaten der EU getragen wird, ist zu erwarten, dass der Inhalt des Dokuments in einer Verordnung des BMVIT nach § 16a Abs 9 TKG 2003 berücksichtigt wird.

Mitteilungen über Verletzungen des Schutzes personenbezogener Daten

Nach Art 2 Abs 1 u 2 VO (EU) 2013/611 der Europäischen Kommission vom 24.06.2013 über die Maßnahmen für die Benachrichtigung von Verletzungen des Schutzes personenbezogener Daten gemäß der Richtlinie 2002/58/EG des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates (Datenschutzrichtlinie für elektronische Kommunikation) sind Betreiber elektronischer Kommunikationsdienste bei einer Verletzung des Schutzes personenbezogener Daten verpflichtet, binnen 24 Stunden nach Feststellung der Verletzung die zuständige nationale Behörde (das ist nach § 95a TKG 2003 die Datenschutzbehörde, dsb@dsb.gv.at, +43 1 531 15-202525, 1010 Wien, Hohenstaufengasse 3) zu informieren. Die Mitteilung an die Datenschutzbehörde hat die in Anhang I der genannten VO angeführten Angaben zu enthalten.

Ist anzunehmen, dass durch die Verletzung des Schutzes personenbezogener Daten die personenbezogenen Daten eines Teilnehmers oder einer Person oder deren Privatsphäre beeinträchtigt werden, so benachrichtigt der Betreiber gemäß Art 3 Abs 1 VO (EU) 2013/611 ohne unangemessene Verzögerung nach Feststellung der Verletzung zusätzlich den betroffenen Teilnehmer bzw die betroffene Person. Eine Benachrichtigung des Teilnehmers von der Verletzung kann gemäß Art 4 Abs 1 der VO entfallen,  wenn der Betreiber zur Zufriedenheit der zuständigen nationalen Behörde nachgewiesen hat, dass er geeignete technische Schutzmaßnahmen getroffen hat und diese auf die von der Sicherheitsverletzung betroffenen Daten angewendet wurden.

Datensicherheitsmaßnahmen

§ 95 Abs 1 TKG 2003 verpflichtet Betreiber öffentlicher Kommunikationsdienste zur Erlassung von Datensicherheitsmaßnahmen für jeden der von ihnen erbrachten Dienste. Besteht ein besonderes Risiko zur Verletzung der Vertraulichkeit, so hat der Betreiber den Teilnehmer nach § 95 Abs 2 TKG 2003  über dieses Risiko und – wenn das Risiko außerhalb des Anwendungsbereichs der vom Betreiber zu treffenden Maßnahmen liegt – über mögliche Abhilfen einschließlich deren Kosten zu unterrichten. Darüber hinaus haben Betreiber öffentlicher Kommunikationsdienste durch Datensicherheitsmaßnahmen gemäß § 95 Abs 3 TKG 2003 Folgendes zu gewährleisten:

  • die Sicherstellung, dass nur ermächtigte Personen für rechtlich zulässige Zwecke Zugang zu personenbezogenen Daten erhalten,
  • den Schutz gespeicherter oder übermittelter personenbezogener Daten vor unbeabsichtigter odser unrechtmäßiger Zerstörung, unbeabsichtigtem Verlust odert unbeabsichtigter Veränderung und unbefugter oder unrechtmäßiger Speicherung oder Verarbeitung, unbefugtem oder unberechtigtem Zugang  oder unbefugter oder unrechtmäßiger Weitergabe,
  • die Umsetzung eines Sicherheitskonzepts für die Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten.

Die von Betreibern öffentlicher Kommunikationsdienste getroffenen Datensicherheitsmaßnahmen kann die RTR-GmbH als zuständige Regulierungsbehörde gemäß § 95 Abs 3 TKG 2003 prüfen und Empfehlungen in Bezug auf das zu erreichende Sicherheitsniveau abgeben. Zur Prüfung der getroffenen Datensicherheitsmaßnahmen kann die RTR-GmbH den Betreiber zur Erteilung der erforderlichen Auskünfte gemäß § 90 TKG 2003 auffordern.

Downloads

Links