The REIMS II Agreement concerns the remuneration that the parties pay each other for the delivery of cross-border mail, i.e. mail sent from one country to another. Seventeen public postal operators ("PPOs"), including the incumbent postal operators of all European Union (EU) Member States other than the Netherlands', and the PPOs of Norway, Iceland and Switzerland, have currently signed the REIMS II Agreement. The main aims of the REIMS II Agreement are to provide the parties with compensation for the delivery of cross-border mail, and to improve the quality of the cross-border mail service. The Agreement links terminal dues to domestic mail tariffs in the country of destination. The Agreement applies a system of quality-of-service standards and a penalty system - applied only when the agreed standards are not met. The signatory parties are Austrian Post, La Poste/De Post (Belgium), Post Danmark, Finland Post, La Poste (France), Deutsche Post, Hellenic Posts ELTA, Iceland Post, An Post (Ireland), Poste Italiane, Entreprise des Postes & Télécommunications (Luxembourg), Norway Post, CTT Correios de Portugal, Correos y Telégrafos (Spain), Sweden Post, Swiss Post and Royal Mail (United Kingdom).

Decision C 340/13

The principle of non-discrimination in postal tariffs laid down in Article 12 of Directive 97/67/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 15 December 1997 on common rules for the development of the internal market of Community postal services and the improvement of quality of service, as amended by Directive 2008/6/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 20 February 2008, must be interpreted as not precluding a system of quantity discounts per sender, such as that at issue in the main proceedings.