ÜberUns

The Organisation

The Austrian Regulatory Authority for Broadcasting and Telecommunications (RTR) is a state institution with a statutory mandate in relation to regulating, developing and promoting Austria’s markets for media, telecommunications and postal services.

RTR was established on 1 April 2001 by the KommAustria Act (KOG). RTR is wholly owned by the federal state. RTR is made up of two specialist divisions with a total staff of 120. The Media Division and the Telecommunications and Postal Services Division are each headed by a separate managing director.

The Media Division, headed by Managing Director Oliver Stribl, serves as the administrative agency for the Austrian Communications Authority (KommAustria). Independently accountable, the division administers the funds that have been set up under it to promote, support and develop Austria’s media market. The funds in question are the Austrian Television Fund, the Digitisation Fund, the Private Broadcasting Fund and the Non-Commercial Broadcasting Fund.

The Telecommunications and Postal Services Division (RTR.Telekom.Post), headed by Managing Director Klaus M. Steinmaurer, serves as the administrative agency for two authorities, the Telekom-Control-Kommission (TKK) and the Post-Control-Kommission (PCK). This division is also directly responsible for certain official duties, such as number administration. The division issues legal ordinances applying to various areas of telecommunications, while also serving as the central information point for infrastructure data and broadband coverage.

RTR’s duties are detailed in the KommAustria Act (KOG) and the Telecommunications Act (TKG).

As a competence centre, RTR draws on its wealth of specialist knowledge to advise businesses, consumers, policymakers, researchers and media representatives. By organising targeted activities such as further training events, conferences and symposiums, RTR helps to bring discussion and debate about issues of relevance for broadcasting and telecommunications to a wider audience. RTR also keeps the general public informed with its comprehensive reporting, consultations for the discussion of vital issues, and publication of official decisions.

In its capacity as state-recognised consumer arbitration centre, RTR offers alternative dispute resolution procedures to consumers at no charge. 

Funding Responsibility structures

ÜberUns

Die Organisation

Die Rundfunk und Telekom Regulierungs-GmbH (RTR) ist eine staatliche Einrichtung und erfüllt gesetzliche Aufträge im Zusammenhang mit der Regulierung, Entwicklung und Förderung der österreichischen Märkte für Medien, Telekommunikation und Post.

Die RTR wurde am 1. April 2001 auf Grundlage des KommAustria-Gesetzes (KOG) gegründet und befindet sich zu 100 Prozent im Eigentum des Bundes. Sie besteht aus zwei Fachbereichen mit insgesamt rund 120 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern. Der Fachbereich Medien sowie der Fachbereich Telekommunikation und Post unterstehen jeweils einem Geschäftsführer.

Der Fachbereich Medien (RTR Medien) unter Leitung von Geschäftsführer Mag. Oliver Stribl ist Geschäftsstelle der Kommunikationsbehörde Austria (KommAustria) und verwaltet in Eigenverantwortung bei ihm eingerichtete Fonds zur Förderung, Unterstützung und Entwicklung des österreichischen Medienmarktes. Dies sind der FERNSEHFONDS AUSTRIA, der Digitalisierungsfonds, der Privatrundfunkfonds und der Nichtkommerzielle Rundfunkfonds.

Der Fachbereich Telekommunikation und Post (RTR.Telekom.Post) unter Leitung von Geschäftsführer Dr. Klaus M. Steinmaurer unterstützt als Geschäftsstelle die Behörden Telekom-Control-Kommission (TKK) und Post-Control-Kommission (PCK). Darüber hinaus nimmt er selbst behördliche Aufgaben, z.B. in der Rufnummernverwaltung wahr. Er ist Verordnungsgeber in verschiedenen Bereichen der Telekommunikation und fungiert als zentrale Informationsstelle für Infrastrukturdaten und Breitbandversorgung.

Die Aufgaben der RTR sind im KommAustria-Gesetz (KOG) und im Telekommunikationsgesetz (TKG)  beschrieben.

Als Kompetenzzentrum stellt die RTR fundiertes Fachwissen für Unternehmen, Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten, Politik, Wissenschaft und Medienvertreterinnen und -Vertreter bereit. Mit gezielten Aktivitäten, wie der Organisation von Weiterbildungsveranstaltungen, Tagungen und Symposien unterstützt die RTR Diskussionsprozesse mit einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit zu rundfunk- und telekommunikationsrelevanten Themen. Auch mit ihrer umfassenden Berichtstätigkeit, Konsultationen zur Erörterung wichtiger Problemstellungen oder der Veröffentlichung von Entscheidungen informiert die RTR eine breite Öffentlichkeit.

Die RTR ist staatlich anerkannte Verbraucherschlichtungsstelle und bietet kostenlos außergerichtliche Schlichtungsverfahren an. 


Finanzierung Weisungszusammenhänge