KommAustria

The Austrian Communications Authority, also known as KommAustria, is the regulatory authority for electronic audio media and electronic audiovisual media in Austria. Since January 2004, the authority has been headed by Michael Ogris, who also became its Chairman on October 1, 2010, when KommAustria was transformed into an independent panel authority which is not subject to instructions from any other authority. In all of its activities, KommAustria is provided with operational support by RTR's Media Division.

Since its establishment under the KommAustria Act in 2001, KommAustria has been responsible for issuing licenses to private television and radio stations, managing broadcasting frequencies, handling the legal supervision of private broadcasters, as well as preparing and launching digital broadcasting in Austria.

Since January 2004, KommAustria has also been in charge of administering the Austrian federal government's press and journalism subsidies. In August of the same year, KommAustria also assumed responsibility for monitoring compliance with Austrian advertising regulations in broadcasts of the Austrian Broadcasting Corporation (ORF) and private broadcasters.

Since October 1, 2010, KommAustria has also been responsible for legal supervision of ORF and its subsidiaries, for the legal supervision of private providers of audiovisual media services on the Internet, and for certain tasks under the Austrian Act on Exclusive Television Rights.

Members

KommAustria comprises the following members:

  • Michael Ogris (Chairman)
  • Susanne Lackner (Vice Chair)
  • Martina Hohensinn
  • Katharina Urbanek
  • Michael Truppe

The authority's rules of procedure and its allocation of duties can be accessed via the link below.

Lines of command

In the performance of their duties, the members of KommAustria are independent and not bound by instructions from any other authority.

Austria’s Federal Chancellor does not have the power to issue instructions to KommAustria. However, the Federal Chancellor is authorized to gather and request relevant information on all matters handled by KommAustria.

Appeals against KommAustria decisions can be submitted to the Federal Administrative Court (BVwG). Further appeals against BVwG decisions may be submitted to the Austrian Administrative Court (VwGH) and the Austrian Constitutional Court (VfGH).

Office hours

For information about our office hours, please go to the section "About us", subsection "RTR". RTR is KommAustria's operational support organisation.

KommAustria

Die Kommunikationsbehörde Austria, kurz KommAustria, ist die österreichische Regulierungsbehörde für elektronische Audiomedien und elektronische audiovisuelle Medien. Die Behörde wird seit Anfang April 2004 von Mag. Michael Ogris geleitet. Dieser ist seit der Umstrukturierung in eine weisungsfreie und unabhängige Kollegialbehörde mit 1. Oktober 2010 auch ihr Vorsitzender. In sämtlichen Aufgaben wird die KommAustria vom Fachbereich Medien der RTR-GmbH unterstützt.

Seit ihrer Gründung auf Basis des KommAustria-Gesetzes im Jahr 2001 vergibt die KommAustria Zulassungen für Privatfernsehen und -radio, sie ist für die Frequenzverwaltung im Rundfunkbereich verantwortlich, fungiert als Rechtsaufsichtsorgan für die privaten Rundfunkveranstalter und ist zuständig für die Vorbereitung und Einführung des digitalen Rundfunks.

Seit Jänner 2004 obliegt der KommAustria auch die Vergabe der Presse- und Publizistikförderung. Seit August 2004 kontrolliert die KommAustria zusätzlich die Einhaltung der werberechtlichen Bestimmungen durch den ORF und die privaten Rundfunkveranstalter.

Seit 1. Oktober 2010 ist die KommAustria zudem mit der umfassenden Rechtsaufsicht über den Österreichischen Rundfunk und dessen Tochtergesellschaften, mit der Rechtsaufsicht über private Anbieter audiovisueller Mediendienste im Internet sowie mit Aufgaben nach dem Fernseh-Exklusivrechtegesetz betraut.

Mitglieder der KommAustria

Die KommAustria setzt sich aus folgenden Mitgliedern zusammen:

  • Mag. Michael Ogris (Vorsitzender)
  • Dr. Florian Philapitsch LL.M. (Vorsitzender-Stellvertreter)
  • Dr. Martina Hohensinn (in Karenz)
  • Dr. Susanne Lackner
  • Mag. Michael Truppe


Nachfolgend finden Sie die Geschäftsordnung sowie die Geschäftsverteilung der KommAustria:

Weisungszusammenhänge

Die Mitglieder der KommAustria sind in Ausübung ihres Amtes unabhängig und an keine Weisungen gebunden.

Der Bundeskanzler hat kein Weisungsrecht gegenüber der KommAustria. Er ist jedoch befugt, sich über alle Gegenstände der Geschäftsführung zu unterrichten und alle einschlägigen Auskünfte zu verlangen.

Gegen Bescheide der KommAustria kann Beschwerde an das Bundesverwaltungsgericht (BVwG) erhoben werden. Danach steht den Parteien grundsätzlich der Rechtszug zum Verwaltungsgerichtshof (VwGH) beziehungsweise Verfassungsgerichtshof (VfGH) offen.  

Amtsstunden

Die Amtsstunden und Zeiten des Parteienverkehrs finden Sie in der Rubrik "Über uns" im Bereich der RTR-GmbH, der Geschäftsstelle der KommAustria.