EU net neutrality regulation

In November 2015, for the first time, uniform provisions on net neutrality in the form of a regulation were adopted (so called Telecom Single Market-Regulation, short "TSM", see downloads). The regulation has been applicable since 30 April 2016.

With Art. 50 of the BEREC regulation (Regulation (EU) 2018/1971) the regulation was renamed to "Regulation (EU) 2015/2120 of the European Parliament and of the council of 25 November 2015 laying down measures concerning open internet access and retail charges for regulated intra-EU communications and amending Directive 2002/22/EC and Regulation (EU) No 531/2012".

In the regulation, BEREC is obliged to issue guidelines in order to contribute to a consistent application of the regulation. On 30 August 2016, BEREC finalised the guidelines. According to the  BEREC work programe 2019 these guidelines are currently updated. On 30 April 2019 the European Commission published a report on the implementation of the net neutrality regulation.

Downloads

EU-Netzneutralitäts-Verordnung

Im November 2015 wurden erstmals einheitliche Regelungen für die gesamte EU in Form einer Verordnung (sogenannte Telecom-Single-Market-Verordnung, kurz "TSM", siehe Downloads) erlassen. Diese Bestimmungen sind seit 30. April 2016 anwendbar.

Mit Art. 50 der BEREC-VO (Verordnung (EU) 2018/1971) wurde die Verordnung in "Verordnung (EU) 2015/2120 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 25. November 2015 über Maßnahmen zum Zugang zum offenen Internet und zu Endkundenentgelten für regulierte intra-EU-Kommunikation sowie zur Änderung der Richtlinie 2002/22/EG und der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 531/2012" umbenannt.

Das Gremium Europäischer Regulierungsstellen für elektronische Kommunikation (BEREC) wurde in diesem Regelwerk beauftragt, Leitlinien zu verfassen, welche einen Beitrag zur einheitlichen Anwendung der Verordnung leisten. Am 30. August 2016 wurden diese Leitlinien finalisiert. Diese werden derzeit entsprechend dem BEREC Arbeitsprogramm 2019 überarbeitet. Am 30. April 2019 hat die Europäische Kommission einen Bericht zur Umsetzung der Netzneutralitätsverordnung veröffentlicht.

Downloads