Television Fund

The FERNSEHFONDS AUSTRIA (i.e. Austrian Television Fund) was established within the Austrian Regulatory Authority for Broadcasting and Telecommunications (RTR) by an amendment to the KommAustria Act (KOG) as of January 1, 2004. RTR administers the fund and receives EUR 13.5 million from the fees collected in accordance with § 3 Par. 1 of the Austrian Broadcasting Fees Act (RGG). These funds were previously allocated to the federal budget. RTR is responsible for investing the funds and awarding grants for the purpose of promoting television productions. The funding decisions are taken by the manager of RTR's Media Division with due attention to the Fund’s objectives and after the Review Board has submitted an opinion.

Grants can be awarded to cover a maximum of 20 percent (in exceptional cases up to 30 percent) of reasonable overall production costs. Grants are limited to EUR 1,000,000 per television film and EUR 200,000 per documentary. The grants are awarded in the form of non-repayable subsidies. Independent production companies with the appropriate professional qualifications are eligible to apply for grants.

The Fund is intended to make a contribution to improving the quality of television production and the capacity of the Austrian film industry, as well as reinforcing Austria as a media location and ensuring the diversity of the cultural landscape. In addition, the grants are also intended to contribute to the strengthening of the audiovisual sector in Europe. The Fund’s aims are to increase the added value created in Austria by allocated funds, to make exploitation grants accessible for productions as well as to increase television broadcasters’ share of financing for the production of supported projects. In addition, FERNSEHFONDS AUSTRIA strives to bring additional financial resources to Austria via co-productions.

RTR worked out guidelines for grants from the FERNSEHFONDS AUSTRIA which were reported to the European Commission.

The guidelines are valid until 31 December 2018. 

Contact: fernsehfonds@rtr.at

To subscribe please use the contact formular.

 

We are sorry that the following documents can only be provided in German

Tätigkeitsberichte

 

Veranstaltungen des FERNSEHFONDS AUSTRIA

 

Publikationen

FERNSEHFONDS AUSTRIA

Mit der Novelle des KommAustria-Gesetzes (KOG) wurde per 01.01.2004 bei der RTR-GmbH ein Fernsehfilmförderungsfonds (im Folgenden: FERNSEHFONDS AUSTRIA) eingerichtet. Die RTR-GmbH verwaltet diesen Fonds und erhält jährlich EUR 13,5 Mio. aus einem Teil der Gebühren gemäß § 3 Abs. 1 Rundfunkgebührengesetz (RGG), die früher dem Bundesbudget zugeflossen sind. Diese Mittel sind durch die RTR-GmbH anzulegen und zur Förderung der Herstellung von Fernsehproduktionen zu verwenden. Förderungsentscheidungen werden unter Berücksichtigung der Förderungsziele und nach Stellungnahme durch den Fachbeirat durch den Geschäftsführer der RTR-GmbH getroffen.

Die Förderungshöhe beträgt 20 % (in Ausnahmefällen bis zu 30 %) der angemessenen Gesamtherstellungskosten. Die Höchstfördergrenzen liegen im Einzelfall für fiktionale Produktionen bei EUR 1.000.000 pro Teil und für dokumentarische Produktionen bei EUR 200.000 pro Teil. Die Förderungen werden in Form nicht rückzahlbarer Zuschüsse gewährt. Antragsberechtigt sind qualifizierte unabhängige Produktionsunternehmen.

Die Fördermittel sollen zur Steigerung der Qualität der Fernsehproduktion und der Leistungsfähigkeit der Österreichischen Filmwirtschaft beitragen, den Medienstandort Österreich stärken und eine vielfältige Kulturlandschaft gewährleisten. Darüber hinaus soll die Förderung einen Beitrag zur Stärkung des audiovisuellen Sektors in Europa leisten. Ziele, die sich der FERNSEHFONDS AUSTRIA gesetzt hat, sind die Wertschöpfung der ausbezahlten Förderungen in Österreich zu erhöhen, die geförderten Projekte einer Verwertungsförderung zuzuführen sowie den Finanzierungsanteil der TV-Sender an der Herstellung der geförderten Projekte zu steigern. Weiters ist der FERNSEHFONDS AUSTRIA bestrebt, mit Koproduktionen mehr Finanzierungsmittel nach Österreich zu bringen.

Für die Vergabe von Förderungen aus dem FERNSEHFONDS AUSTRIA wurden von der RTR-GmbH Richtlinien erstellt, die bei der Europäischen Kommission gemeldet wurden.

Sie sind bis zum 31.12.2018 in Kraft.


Kontakt: fernsehfonds@rtr.at

Sie haben die Möglichkeit sich zu subskribieren, um über Änderungen informiert zu werden. Verwenden Sie hierzu bitte unser Formular zum Informationsservice.

 

Tätigkeitsberichte

 

 

Veranstaltungen des FERNSEHFONDS AUSTRIA

 

Publikationen